UMA logo part 3


Recommended Anthropomorphics List
Open for submissions

Twitter account@UrsaMajorAwards

Find us on Facebook

Contacts & Links

Nominations for 2023

Voting for 2023

Past Winners:

ALAA's Choice Award

ALAA Hall of Fame

Award Presentations

Articles & Interviews


The winners of the tenth annual Ursa Major Awards (formally the Annual Anthropomorphic Literature & Arts Awards), for the Best in anthropomorphic/"funny animal" literature and art first published during the calendar year 2010, were announced at a presentation ceremony on Friday, May 13 at Morphicon, held at The Holiday Inn, Columbus, Ohio on May 12-15, 2011.

The Ursa Major Awards are Anthropomorphic (a.k.a. Furry) Fandom's equivalents of s-f fandom's Hugo Awards, mystery fandom's Anthony Awards, horror fandom's Bram Stoker Awards, and so forth.  The Ursa Majors are administered and presented by the Anthropomorphic Literature and Arts Association (ALAA), an organization dedicated to promoting anthropomorphic literature and arts both within and outside of the fandom.  Nominations and voting for the awards are open to the public.  The physical award consists of an illustrated trophy certificate or plaque, designed by the artist Heather Bruton.

Eligibility in ten categories is for works featuring intelligent &/or talking animals first published during the calendar year 2010.  This can include new compilations of older works, such as a new collection of previously-published separate works.  The winners are chosen by popular vote among those participating in Anthropomorphic Fandom who, first, submitted their nominations for the winners, and then voted upon a final ballot consisting of the five finalists (those receiving the most nominations) in each category. The voting for the awards was open to all furry fandom via the Internet; and took place between March 13 and April 17; and received votes from countries as diverse as Australia, Austria, Bulgaria, Canada, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Laos, Mexico, New Zealand, Philippines, Russia, Spain, Sweden, the UK, and the USA.

The envelope, please...

Best Anthropomorphic Motion Picture

How To Train Your Dragon

(Producers: DreamWorks, Mad Hatter, Vertigo; Distributor: Paramount Pictures, March 26)

Also nominated were:
Alpha and Omega (Producers: Lionsgate and Crest Animation; Distributor: Lionsgate and others, September 17)
The Chronicles of Narnia: Voyage of the Dawn Treader (Producer: 20th Century Fox and Walden Media; Distributor: 20th Century Fox, December 10)
Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga'Hoole (Producer: Village Roadshow Pictures; Distributor: Warner Bros. Pictures, September 24)
Toy Story 3 (Producer: Pixar; Distributor: Walt Disney Studios, June 18)

Best Anthropomorphic Dramatic Short Work or Series

Wallace and Gromit's World of Invention

(Produced by Aardman Animations for BBC One. Episode 1 to 6; 3 November to 8 December)

Also nominated were:
Adventure Time (Produced by Pendleton Ward for Cartoon Network. Episodes 1 to 17b)
Foxy Bingo (produced for Foxy Bingo; February 5.)
Mongrels (Produced by the BBC for BBC Three. Episodes 1 to 8; 22 June to 10 August) Mature Audiences
Orangina ad campaign (Gorgeous Enterprises for Orangina, November 25)
Regular Show (Produced by Cartoon Network for Cartoon Network, episodes 1a to 7a)

Best Anthropomorphic Novel

Shadow of the Father

by Kyell Gold. (Sofawolf Press, January)

Also nominated were:
Basecraft Cirrostratus by Justin Lamar (FurPlanet Books, June) Adults Only
Descent, by Phil Guesz. (Legion Printing, August)
Otters in Space by Mary Lowd. (Createspace, August)
Save the Day by D.J. Fahl. (FurPlanet Books, February)
The Seventh Chakra, by Kevin Frane. (Sofawolf Press, January)

Best Anthropomorphic Short Fiction


by Kyell Gold (Novella released as single publication by FurPlanet Books, February) Adults Only

Also nominated were:
False Dawn, by Kyell Gold. (FurAffinity, February 11) Adults Only
Felis Ex Machina, by E.O. Costello. (Spontoon Island, March)
Gerty and the Doesn't-Smell-Like-a-Melon by Mary E. Lowd (Golden Visions Magazine, October)
The Peculiar Quandary of Simon Canopus Artyle by Kevin Frane. (Furplanet Books, June)

Best Anthropomorphic Other Literary Work

Fur-Piled #4

by Leo Magna. (Sofawolf Press, comic collection with some new material, July)

Also nominated were:
Different Worlds, Different Skins, Volume 2 edited by Will A. Sanborn (Anthropomorphic Dreams Publishing, Short story collection, anthology, November)
Ironclaw: a Bestiary by Chris Goodwin (Self-published through Blurb, art collection for game, September)
i.s.o. #1 by Vince Suzukawa (Sofawolf Press, comic collection with some new material, January)
Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk: A Modest Bestiary by David Sedaris, illustrated by Ian Falconer. (Little, Brown and Company; Short story/essay collection, September)

Best Anthropomorphic Graphic Story


by Tom Fischbach (Internet, January 6 (#537) to December 4 (Holiday 2010))

Also nominated were:
Concession by Immelmann (Internet strips from February 9 to December 28)
Furthia High by QuetzaDrake (Internet strips from January 1 to December 28)
Cruelty by Rukis (Furplanet Books, June) Mature Audiences
Lackadaisy by Tracy J. Butler. (Internet, #83 to #100)

Best Anthropomorphic Comic Strip


by Rick Griffin. (Internet strips from January 1 to December 31)

Also nominated were:
Broken Plot Device by Lis Boriss (Internet, January 4 to December 31)
Faux Pas by Robert and Margaret Carspecken. (Internet strips from #1153 to #1263)
Little Tales by Genesis Eve Whitmore. (Internet strips from Happy New Year 2010 to Cat Cult)
Sandra and Woo by Powree and Oliver Knörzer (Internet Strips from January 4 to December 30)

Best Anthropomorphic Magazine


(#7, Sofawolf Press, July)

Also nominated were:
Anthropomorphic Dreams Podcast, edited by Will A. Sanborn (Anthropomorphic Dreams Publishing, January 29 to December 23)
New Fables: Summer 2010, edited by Tim Susman (SofaWolf Press, June) Adults Only
South Fur Lands, edited by BernardDoove (issue #55/June and #56/December)
Tales of the Tai-Pan Universe, edited by Gene Breshears (Issue #47)

Best Anthropomorphic Published Illustration

Cover for Kyell Gold's Shadow of the Father by Sara Palmer

.(Sofawolf Press, January)

Also nominated were:
Big Red: Lady Sings the Blues, by Richard Bartrop (Midwest FurFest program book, November)
Cenotaph, by Susan Rankin-Pollard (Spontoon Island, May)
Cover for Kevin Frane's The Seventh Chakra, by Kamui (Sofawolf Press, January)
Cover for New Fables Summer 2010, by Mary Mouse (Sofawolf Press, July)

Best Anthropomorphic Game

Disney Epic Mickey

(Developer: Junction Point Studios; Publisher: Disney Interactive Studios, November 25)

Also nominated were:
Furry Basketball Association (Podcast role-playing, January 3 to December 31)
Rocket Knight (Developer: Climax Studios; Publisher: Konami, May 18)
Sam & Max: Season Three, Episode 1: The Penal Zone (Developer/Publisher: Telltale Games, April 15)
Sonic Colors (Developer: Dimps; Publisher: SEGA, November 16)