UMA logo part 3


Recommended Anthropomorphics List
Open for submissions

Twitter account@UrsaMajorAwards

Find us on Facebook

Contacts & Links

Nominations for 2023

Voting for 2023

Past Winners:

ALAA's Choice Award

ALAA Hall of Fame

Award Presentations

Articles & Interviews


The winners of the fifteenth annual Ursa Major Awards (formally the Annual Anthropomorphic Literature & Arts Awards), for the Best in anthropomorphic/"funny animal" literature and art first published during the calendar year 2015, were announced at a presentation ceremony at What the Fur convention, Montreal, May 20, 2016.

The Ursa Major Awards are Anthropomorphic (a.k.a. Furry) Fandom's equivalents of s-f fandom's Hugo Awards, mystery fandom's Anthony Awards, horror fandom's Bram Stoker Awards, and so forth.  The Ursa Majors are administered and presented by the Anthropomorphic Literature and Arts Association (ALAA), an organization dedicated to promoting anthropomorphic literature and arts both within and outside of the fandom.  Nominations and voting for the awards are open to the public.  The physical award consists of an illustrated trophy certificate or plaque, designed by the artist Heather Bruton.

Eligibility in eleven categories is for works featuring intelligent &/or talking animals first published during the calendar year 2015.  This can include new compilations of older works, such as a new collection of previously-published separate works.  The winners are chosen by popular vote among those participating in Anthropomorphic Fandom who, first, submitted their nominations for the winners, and then voted upon a final ballot consisting of the five finalists (those receiving the most nominations) in each category. (Go here for full voting statistics.) The voting for the awards was open to all furry fandom via the internet; and took place between March 15 and April 15; and received votes from countries all around the world.

The envelope, please...

Best Anthropomorphic Motion Picture

Inside Out

(Directed by Pete Doctor and Ronaldo Del Carmen; June 19)

Runners-up were:
Shaun the Sheep Movie (Directed by Mark Burton and Richard Starzak; February 5)
The Good Dinosaur (Directed by Peter Sohn; November 25)
The Peanuts Movie (Directed by Steve Martino; November 6)
The Lion Guard: Return of the Roar (Directed by Howy Parkins; November 22)

Best Anthropomorphic Dramatic Short Work or Series

My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic

(Directed by James Thiessen, Jim Miller, and Denny Lu; Season 5 episode 1 to Season 5 episode 26, April 4 to November 28)

Runners-up were:
We Bare Bears (Directed by Manny Hernandez; Season 1 episode 1 to episode 25, July 27 to November 19)
Danger Mouse (Directed by Robert Cullen; Season 1 episodes 1-16)
Tiger's Eye (Directed by Alexander Shaw; episodes 1 to 25, May 13 to October 29)
Littlest Pet Shop (Directed by Joel Dickie and Steven Garcia; Season 3 Episode 17 to Season 4 Episode 9)
Harvey Beaks (Directed by C.H. Greenblatt; Season 1 March 29 to November 15)

Best Anthropomorphic Novel

Tiger's Eye

by Alexander Shaw. (Amazon; November 5)

Runners-up were:
In a Dog's World, by Mary E. Lowd. (FurPlanet Productions; July)
Windfall, by Tempe O'Kun. (FurPlanet Productions; July)
Heart Behind the Mask, by N "Karmakat" Franzetti. (Smashwords; May 4)
GeneStorm: City in the Sky, by Paul Kidd. (Kitsune Press; May 19)

Best Anthropomorphic Short Fiction

The Analogue Cat

by Alice "Huskyteer" Dryden. (in The Furry Future; FurPlanet Productions; January 15)

Runners-up were:
Lunar Cavity, by Mary E. Lowd. (in The Furry Future; January 15)
Thebe and the Angry Red Eye, by David Hopkins. (in The Furry Future; January 15)
Pocosin, by Ursula Vernon. (in Apex; January 6)
Tow, by Watts Martin (in The Furry Future; January 15)

Best Anthropomorphic Other Literary Work

Furries Among Us; Essays on Furries by the Most Prominent Members of the Fandom

edited by Thurston Howl. (Thurston Howl Publications, essay collection; July 4)

Runners-up were:
The Furry Future, edited by Fred Patten. (FurPlanet Productions, short story collection; January 15)
Inhuman Acts: A Collection of Noir edited by Ocean Tigrox. (FurPlanet Productions, short story collection; September)
ROAR Volume 6, edited by Mary E. Lowd. (FurPlanet Productions, short story collection; July)
The Necromouser and Other Magical Cats by Mary E. Lowd. (FurPlanet Productions, anthology; September)

Best Anthropomorphic Graphic Story


by Tom Fischbach. (Internet; January 4 to December 23)

Runners-up were:
Lackadaisy, by Tracy J. Butler. (Internet; Lackadaisy Congregation to Lackadaisy Inspiration)
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic (IDW Publishing; Issue 27 to 38)
The Golden Week, by Douglas Kim. (Internet; January 2 to December 24)
Endtown, by Aaron Neathery. (Internet; January 1 to December 30)

Best Anthropomorphic Comic Strip


by Rick Griffin (Internet; January 2 to December 30)

Also nominated were:
Savestate, by Tim Weeks. (Internet; January 7 to December 30)
Carry On, by K. Garrison. (Internet; January 2 to December 30)
Doc Rat, by Jenner. (Internet; January 1 to December 31)
Peter and Company, by Jonathan Ponikvar. (Internet; page 223 to page 243)

Best Anthropomorphic Magazine


produced by Black Teagan, Dark End. (Volume #12; Sofawolf Press; July 9)

Runners-up were:
Dogpatch Press, by Patch Packrat (Internet; January 5 to December 24)
Flayrah, edited by crossafliction and GreenReaper (Internet; January 2 to December 31)
InFurNation ( Internet; January 1 to December 31)
Fangs and Fonts (Internet; podcasts #37 to #56)

Best Anthropomorphic Published Illustration

Kenket, cover of EuroFurence 21 Program Book

(September 6).

Runners-up were:
Rukis, cover of Lost on Dark Trails, by Rukis; January.
Teagan Gavet, cover of ROAR Volume 6, edited by Mary E. Lowd; July.
Antonio Torresan, cover of Tiger's Eye; November 5.

Best Anthropomorphic Game


(Toby Fox; September 15)

Runners-up were:
Ori and the Blind Forest (Moon Studios; March 11)
Armello. (League of Geeks; September 1)
Five Nights at Freddy's 3 (Scott Cawthon; March 2)
Yo-Kai Watch (Level-5; November 6)

Best Anthropomorphic Website


(furry art specialty site)

Also nominated were:
E621, Furry fandom art community site. Mature Audiences.
Sofurry, furry artist/writer community.
WikiFur, furry wiki.
Culturally f'd, You Tube Channel, furry videos.

The lucite awards were created by John Geyer and Wulfenbahr Arts in South Pasadena. Ursa art by Heather Bruton.