UMA logo part 3


Recommended Anthropomorphics List
Open for submissions

Twitter account@UrsaMajorAwards

Find us on Facebook

Contacts & Links

Nominations for 2022

Voting for 2022

Past Winners:

ALAA's Choice Award

ALAA Hall of Fame

Award Presentations

Articles & Interviews


The winners of the thirteenth annual Ursa Major Awards (formally the Annual Anthropomorphic Literature & Arts Awards), for the Best in anthropomorphic/"funny animal" literature and art first published during the calendar year 2013, were announced at a presentation ceremony on Saturday 31 May 2014 at CaliFur, held at the Irvine Marriott Hotel in Irvine, California.

The Ursa Major Awards are Anthropomorphic (a.k.a. Furry) Fandom's equivalents of s-f fandom's Hugo Awards, mystery fandom's Anthony Awards, horror fandom's Bram Stoker Awards, and so forth.  The Ursa Majors are administered and presented by the Anthropomorphic Literature and Arts Association (ALAA), an organization dedicated to promoting anthropomorphic literature and arts both within and outside of the fandom.  Nominations and voting for the awards are open to the public.  The physical award consists of an illustrated trophy certificate or plaque, designed by the artist Heather Bruton.

Eligibility in eleven categories is for works featuring intelligent &/or talking animals first published during the calendar year 2013.  This can include new compilations of older works, such as a new collection of previously-published separate works.  The winners are chosen by popular vote among those participating in Anthropomorphic Fandom who, first, submitted their nominations for the winners, and then voted upon a final ballot consisting of the five finalists (those receiving the most nominations) in each category. (Go here for voting statistics.) The voting for the awards was open to all furry fandom via the internet; and took place between March 15 and April 30; and received votes from countries as diverse as Australia, Austria, Bulgaria, Canada, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Laos, Mexico, New Zealand, Philippines, Russia, Spain, Sweden, the UK, and the USA.

The envelope, please...

Best Anthropomorphic Motion Picture


(Directed by Chris Buck and Jennifer Lee, November 27)

Also nominated were:
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug (Directed by Peter Jackson, December 13)
Equestria Girls (Directed by Jayson Thiessen, June 16)
Monsters University (Directed by Dan Scanlon, June 21)
Despicable Me 2 (Directed by Pierre Coffin and Chris Renaud, July 3)
The Croods (Directed by Chris Sanders and Kirk DeMicco, February 15)

Best Anthropomorphic Dramatic Short Work or Series

My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic

(Directed by James Thiessen and James Wooton, Season 3 ep 10 to Season 4 episode 7)

Also nominated were:
Adventure Time (Created by Pendleton Ward and Produced by Larry Lechliter, Adam Muto, Nate Cash, David OReilly, and Elizabeth Ito for Cartoon Network, Season 5 episodes 6 to 43)
What Does the Fox Say? (original)(By Ylvis, September 3)
Bravest Warriors (Directed by Breehan Burns, Season 1 Episode 7 to Season 2 Episode 5)
Bee and PuppyCat (Natasha Allegri, Episode 1 to 2)

Best Anthropomorphic Novel


by Jess E. Owen. (Five Elements Press, December 26)

Also nominated were:
Otters In Space 2: Jupiter,Deadly, by Mary E. Lowd. (FurPlanet Productions, July)
The Cat's Eye Pub by James R. Jordan. (CreateSpace, June 4)
The Thin Line, by E.O. Costello (Furaffinity, September 18)
Corr Syl the Warrior, by Garry Rogers. (CreateSpace, May 22)

Best Anthropomorphic Short Fiction

The Monkeytown Raid

by Roz Gibson (in What Happens Next, edited by Fred Patten, FurPlanet Productions, July 4)

Also nominated were:
In a Cat's Eyes, by Mary E. Lowd (in Dancing in the Moonlight: Rainfurrest 2013 Charity Anthology, edited by Rainfurrest, FurPlanet Productions, September)
Indigo Rain, by Watts Martin (FurPlanet Productions, January 17) Mature Audiences.
Fox in the Hen House, by Mary E. Lowd (in Dancing in the Moonlight: Rainfurrest 2013 Charity Anthology, edited by Rainfurrest, Fur Planet Productions, September)

Best Anthropomorphic Other Literary Work

Slightly Damned, Book Two

by Sarah "Chu" Wilson (IndyPlanet, Graphic Novel, May 1)

Also nominated were:
My Little Pony Annual #2013, by Ted Anderson (story), Katie Cook (story), Tony Fleecs (art, coloring), Andy Price (art). (IDW, graphic annual, October 30)
Housepets! Are Gonna Sniff Everybody, by Rick Griffin. (CreateSpace, comic strip collection, July 25)
The Werewolf Calendar, 2013, multiple artists. (The Werewolf Calendar, calendar, 2013)
Digger: The Complete Omnibus Edition (hardcover), by Ursula Vernon (Sofawolf Press, November 15)
Dogs of War, by Sheila Keenan (story), Nathan Fox (art). (Scholastic/Graphix, illustrated stories, October 29)

Best Anthropomorphic Graphic Story

Slightly Damned

by Sarah "Chu" Wilson. (Internet, #564 to #625)

Also nominated were:
TwoKinds, by Tom Fischbach (Internet, January 5, #706, to #788)
My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic (IDW Publishing, issue 2 to 14)
A Redtail's Dream, by Minna Sundberg. (January 1 to October 23)
Prequel (or Making a Cat Cry, the Adventure), by Kazerad. (Internet, January 9 to December 22)
Gunnerkrigg Court, by Tom Siddell. (Internet, January 2 to December 31 (bonus page 454))

Best Anthropomorphic Comic Strip


by Rick Griffin (Internet, January 2, to December 30)

Also nominated were:
Freefall, by Mark Stanley. (Internet strips from January 2 to December 30)
Doc Rat, by Jenner (Internet, January 1 to December 31)
Sequential Art, by Phillip M. Jackson. (Internet strips from #820 to #867)
The Three Jaguars, by M. C. A. Hogarth. (Internet strips from January 1 to November 25)

Best Anthropomorphic Magazine


edited by Laurence "GreenReaper" Parry (Internet, January 1 to December 31)

Also nominated were:
In-Fur-Nation (Internet from January 2 to December 28)
Claw & Quill, edited by Watts Martin (Internet, #1)
Fur What It's Worth (Internet podcast, Season 2 episode 19 to Season 3 episode 13)
ActFur On Air (Internet podcast, Season 5)
Fursday (Internet, October 3 to December 31)

Best Anthropomorphic Published Illustration

Blotch, wraparound cover

Divisions by Kyell Gold, Sofawolf Press, January 17.

Also nominated were:
Dark Natasha Mleynek, "Matthias, Ready for Battle" painting (The Metamor Keep website, February 3)
Redcoatcat, cover for Furnal Equinox 2013 con book, March 8.
Abluedeer, cover of The Cat's Eye Pub, June 4.
Dolphyn (Justin Swatsworth), illustration in Anthrocon 2013 conbook, page 19 (“Street Rave”)

Best Anthropomorphic Game

Pokémon X&Y

(Developer: Game Freak, Publishers: Nintendo and The Pokémon Company, October 12)

Also nominated were:
Dust: An Elysian Tail, Windows/Steam version (Developer: Humble Hearts. Dean Dodrill; Publisher: Microsoft Studios, May 24)
The Wolf Among Us (Developer and Publisher: Tell Tale Games, December 24)
Animal Crossing: New Leaf (Developer and Publisher: Nintendo, June 9)
Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time (Developer Sanzaru Games, Publisher Sony Computer Entertainment, February 5)
Duck Tales Remastered (Developer: Way Forward Technologies; Publisher: Capcom, August 13)

Best Anthropomorphic Website


art website.

Also nominated were:
Equestria Daily, My Little Pony fandom art and fanfic community site.
Inkbunny, furry art and story community.
WikiFur, furry encyclopedia.
[adjective][species], about exploring furry fandom.

ALAA's Choice Award

Children of the Night

animated by Richard Sirois (Lionheart) and Jordana Gonzalez (Spirit), sung by Kate Covington (Erutan). [Wiki]