UMA logo part 3


Recommended Anthropomorphics List
Open for submissions

Twitter account@UrsaMajorAwards

Find us on Facebook

Contacts & Links

Nominations for 2023

Voting for 2023

Past Winners:

ALAA's Choice Award

ALAA Hall of Fame

Award Presentations

Articles & Interviews


The winners of the eighteenth annual Ursa Major Awards (formally the Annual Anthropomorphic Literature & Arts Awards), for the Best in anthropomorphic/"funny animal" literature and art first published during the calendar year 2017, were announced at a presentation ceremony at AnthrOhio convention, held at Crowne Plaza North, 6500 Doubletree Avenue, Columbus, Ohio, on Sunday May 26, 2019.

The Ursa Major Awards are Anthropomorphic (a.k.a. Furry) Fandom's equivalents of s-f fandom's Hugo Awards, mystery fandom's Anthony Awards, horror fandom's Bram Stoker Awards, and so forth.  The Ursa Majors are administered and presented by the Anthropomorphic Literature and Arts Association (ALAA), an organization dedicated to promoting anthropomorphic literature and arts both within and outside of the fandom.  Nominations and voting for the awards are open to the public.  The physical award consists of a acrylic plaque with art designed by Heather Bruton as per the sample at right.

Eligibility in thirteen categories is for works featuring intelligent &/or talking animals first published during the calendar year 2017.  This can include new compilations of older works, such as a new collection of previously-published separate works.  The winners are chosen by popular vote among those participating in Anthropomorphic Fandom who, first, submitted their nominations for the winners, and then voted upon a final ballot consisting of the five finalists (those receiving the most nominations) in each category. (Go here for full voting statistics.) The voting for the awards was open to all furry fandom via the internet and took place between March 1 to 31 and received votes from countries all around the world.

The envelope, please...

Best Anthropomorphic Motion Picture
Live-action or animated feature-length movies.

Isle of Dogs (Directed by Wes Anderson)

    Runners-Up (in descending number of votes)

Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse (Directed by Bob Persichetti, Peter Ramsey, and Rodney Rothman)
Avengers: Infinity War (Directed by Anthony Russo and Joe Russo)
Peter Rabbit (Directed by Will Gluck)
Mary Poppins Returns (Directed by Rob Marshall)

Best Dramatic Series or Short Work
TV series or one-shots, advertisements or short videos.

Aggretsuko (Directed by Rarecho)

    Runners-Up (in descending number of votes)

Bojack Horseman (Created by Raphael Bob-Waksberg)
DuckTales (Developed by Matt Youngberg and Francisco Angones)
Brush: A Fox Tale (Directed by Willi Anton and Faustina Arriola)
My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic (Directed by Denny Lu and Mike Myhre)

Best Novel
Written works of 40,000 words or more. Serialized novels qualify only for the year that the final chapter is published.

Small World, by Gre7g Luterman

    Runners-Up (in descending number of votes)

Once A Dog, by Shaune Lafferty Webb
Cosmic Lotus, by Bernard Doove
The Snake's Song, by Mary E. Lowd

Best Short Fiction
Stories less than 40,000 words, poetry, and other short Written works.

Uri's Bitterweet Story, by Uranium 235. (Published in CrossTime Cafe)

    Runners-Up (in descending number of votes)

Of Starwhals and Spaceships, by Mary E. Lowd. (Published in Daily Science Fiction)
A Legend in His Own Time, by Fred Patten. (Published in What the Fox!)
The Beating of Wild Hooves, by Dwale. ( Published in CLAW, Volume 1)
Come To Todor!, by Fred Patten. (Published in Exploring New Places)

Non-Fiction Work
Includes art books, opinion pieces, and news articles.

Furries: Down the Rabbit Hole. (Created by Fredrik Knudsen)

    Runners-Up (in descending number of votes)

FurSuit History. (from Culturally F'd)
This is Life with Lisa Ling: Furry Nation. (from CNN)
The Day the Fandom Died. (from Rooview)
Furries Assist. (from Rooview)

Best Other Literary Work
Story collections, comic collections, graphic novels, and serialized online stories.

What the Fox!, edited by Fred Patten.

    Runners-Up (in descending number of votes)

CLAW Volume 1, edited by K.C. Alpinus.
ROAR 9, edited by Mary E. Lowd.
Heat 15, produced by Dark End and Teagan Gavet.
Tales From the Guild: World Tour, edited by Ocean Tigrox.

Best Graphic Story
Includes comic books, and serialized online stories.

Lackadaisy, by Tracy J. Butler

    Runners-Up (in descending number of votes)

The Dreamkeepers, by David & Liz Lillie
Scurry, by Mac Smith
DreamKeepers Prelude, by David & Liz Lillie
Rising Sand, by Ty Dunitz and Jenn Lee

Best Comic Strip
Newspaper-style strips, including those with some ongoing arcs.

Carry On, by Kathryn Garrison Kellogg

    Runners-Up (in descending number of votes)

Freefall, by Mark Stanley
Doc Rat, by Jenner
Part Time Dragons, by Spike Parra and Donna Vu
The Whiteboard, by Doc Nickel

Best Magazine
Edited collections of creative and/or informational works by various people, professional or amateur, published in print or online in written, pictorial or audio-visual form.

Culturally F�d, created by Arrkay and Underbite Dragon

    Runners-Up (in descending number of votes)

Dogpatch Press, edited by Patch Packrat
Moms of Furries (created by Moms of Furries on YouTube)
Flayrah, edited by Sonious, Dronon, and Lawrence �Greenreaper� Parry
The South Afrifur Pawdcast (on YouTube)

Best Published Illustration
Illustrations for books, magazines, convention program books, cover art for such, coffee-table portfolios.

Pirates!, website header for Furry Weekend Atlanta 2019, by Caraid

    Runners-Up (in descending number of votes)

Cover art for CLAW Volume 1, by Teagan Gavet
Murder in Surfer's Paradise, cover of the FurDU 2018 convention book, by Tracy J. Butler
Exploring New Places, book cover art by Demicoeur
Will You Be My Valentine? by Ashley Ash

Best Game
Computer or console games, role-playing games, board games.

Deltarune: Chapter 1 (Developed by Toby Fox)

    Runners-Up (in descending number of votes)

Spyro Reignited Trilogy (Developed by Toys for Bob, Published by Activision)
Ghost of a Tale (Developed and Published by SeithCG)
Pok�mon: Let's Go, Pikachu! and Let's Go, Eevee! (Developed by Game Freak, Published by The Pok�mon Company and Nintendo)
Detective Pikachu (the English release) (Developed by Creatures, Published by Nintendo and The Pok�mon Company)

Best Website
Online collections of art, stories, and other creative and/or informational works. Includes galleries, story archives, directories, blogs, and personal sites.

    Runners-Up (in descending number of votes)

Furry Writers' Guild

Best Fursuit
Anthropomorphic costumes.

SonicFox, created by Yamishizen/Fursuit Enterprise, owned by SonicFox.

    Runners-Up (in descending number of votes)

Penelope, created by Dludnerad (Tamara Carmichael) and Paul Kidd, owned by Paul Kidd.
Zabivaka, the FIFA World Cup Mascot for 2018
Ravtrag, created by Suit-a-dile, owned by Ravtrag